Welcome to the website of the Viola Moderna festival at the Folkwang University of the Arts.

This festival will take place between the 23rd and the 28th of March 2015 in Essen-Werden, NRW Germany. The festival is open for all viola players and for those of you who study in Germany, participation is free of charge.

The aim of this festival is to practice and perform contemporary music for the viola with the help of leading experts and performers.

We would very much like you to have fun doing this work and if at the same time we can take prejudice against “modern” music away, we will only be the happier.
Please do join us in Essen-Werden, one of those unique places on this world where, in the 10th century, polyphony started. It is in this wonderfully quiet town of great historical significance, that we would like to help and teach you to prepare a piece of contemporary music for the concert stage. In order to obtain this purpose we will offer you courses in improvisation, singing (also the Mongolian overtone singing!) and ensemble playing. We hope to help you prepare works, if possible in collaboration with the composers,that possibly may have seemed impossible for you to perform.
On the 28th of March we will make a big party concert with as many first performances as possible.
During the whole week there will be a multimedia exposition in the rooms of the old abbey in Werden, that will show you the development of the works composed for our cherished instrument in the last 70 years.
We hope to have publishers to expose the works they have edited recently for the viola as well.

Accommodations in Essen-Werden can be taken care of. There is a youth hostel and many hotels close to the university and Essen-Werden has a great number of good restaurants and bakeries!

In short: feel free to apply for this unique occasion to play real modern music on the viola and enjoy your work.

Emile Cantor



© 2014 · Impressum

Willkommen!

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Website des Festivals Viola Moderna an der Folkwang Universität der Künste!

Dieses Festival wird vom 23. bis zum 28. März 2015 in Essen-Werden stattfinden. Es ist für alle BratschistInnen zugänglich, und die Teilnahme ist für Studierende deutscher Hochschulen gratis. Im Rahmen dieses Festivals finden die Deutschen Bratschistentage 2015 statt.

Ziel dieses Festivals ist es zeitgenössische Musik unter Leitung von führenden Experten einzustudieren und zur (Ur-)Aufführung zu bringen.
Dabei möchten wir, dass alle Beteiligten Spaß bei der Arbeit haben, und ganz bewusst wollen wir Vorurteile gegen „moderne“ Musik abbauen.

Kommt nach Essen-Werden, einem der Orte auf unserer Welt, an dem die Polyphone Musik im 10. Jahrhundert angefangen hat. Gerade in dieser wunderbaren und ruhigen Umgebung von großer historischer Bedeutung möchten wir Interessierten lernen, wie man ein Stück zeitgenössischer Musik podiumreif macht. Wir werden dazu Kurse veranstalten, die euch helfen auf der Bratsche zu improvisieren, wenn notwendig zu singen (auch Obertongesang!) und in Zusammenarbeit mit jungen KomponistInnen und erfahrenen MusikerInnen innerhalb von einer Woche ein Werk zu spielen, das euch vielleicht am Anfang als unmöglich vorkam.
Am 28. März wollen wir den ganzen Tag ein Großes Fest mit Musik (so viele Uraufführungen wie möglich!) veranstalten.

Während der ganzen Woche wird eine große Ausstellung in den Räumen der alten Abtei euch die Entwicklung der Musik für die Viola in den letzten 70 Jahren in Wort, Bild und Musik zeigen. Wir hoffen, dass gleichzeitig Verlage euch die letzten Ausgaben der Literatur zeigen werden.

Für Akkommodation in Essen-Werden kann gesorgt werden. Es gibt eine Jugendherberge und viele Hotels in unmittelbare Nähe der Hochschule und Essen-Werden hat eine große Konzentration guter Restaurants und Bäckereien.
Kurz: Meldet euch an für dieses einmaliges Ereignis und dann viel Freude bei der Arbeit!!

Emile Cantor

 

 

© 2014 · Impressum